Dayton Public Schools

Get in touch with the attendance campaign to learn more about our work and how you can get involved.

Email: pionews@daytonpublic.com

Phone: 937-542-3058

EIN: 31-6000784

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

© 2019 by Dayton Public Schools

About

The Campaign

The #DPSBePresent campaign was launched to address one of the most significant barriers to student achievement: chronic absenteeism. Substantially cutting the 10-days-a-year absence barrier will significantly increase graduation rates, test scores, and student success. 

If children don’t show up for school regularly, they miss out on fundamental reading and math skills and the chance to build a habit of good attendance that will carry them into college and careers. Missing just 10 days of school is associated with a drop in GPA. That's why we ask our students to strive for less than 5 absences a year. We can improve students' lives if they get to school, but getting them to school takes a community-wide effort.

Be Present Days

As part of our campaign, DPS is implementing "Be Present Days" on days with historically low attendance. These are often holidays that students assume they have off, the day after a snow day and the days before and after breaks. Our 2019 - 2020 #BePresent days are:

Monday, October 14 - Columbus Day

Friday, November 1 - Day after Halloween

Monday, November 4 - Before Student Day Off
Wednesday, November 6 - After Student Day Off

Monday, November 11 - Veteran’s Day

Friday, November 22 - Before Thanksgiving Break

Friday, December 20 - Before Winter Break

Monday, January 6 - First day back from Winter Break

Tuesday, January 21 - Day after MLK Day

Tuesday, February 4 - Day after Winter Break

Tuesday, February 18 - Day after Presidents’ Day

Friday, March 20 - Friday before Spring Break 

Monday, March 30 - Monday after Spring Break

May 10 - 21 -Ten days before the end of the school year

Our Mission: To equip our students to achieve success in a global society by implementing an effective and rigorous curriculum with fidelity.

We Need Your Support Today!